Laser Hair Removal

7 Aug

Hey Everyone! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend! In this first post, I am going to be sharing my laser hair removal journey with you wonderful people. I found an awesome deal on Groupon, so decided to give laser a shot and see if it actually does the magic of removing the unwanted hair! Some may think that laser is unsafe but honestly, I haven’t heard stories any horrific stories of laser burnt so far! So I decided to jump on the bandwagon and the areas I am getting lasered are underarm, upper lip, and my lower legs.

SAY NO TO SHAVING: Shaving is a big NO-NO for me, I hate shaving with all my passion. I stopped shaving in HS because I used to always get these tiny red bumps all over my legs and arms and it used to hurt so bad! Since then, all I did was WAX!

SAY MAYBE TO WAXING: Maybe? yes! maybe! Waxing is not everyone’s cup of tea, it can be very messy, painful, and extremely pricey! In India, getting waxing in a salon can be super cheap but in US, its very expensive and cost about 60-70 dollars per leg. Also, in order to wax, you have to have full hair growth and honestly, who has that much time?!? But waxing is definitely a better option than shaving and its leaves your skin feeling smooth for about 2-3 weeks, that is, until you get a stubble.

SAY YES TO LASER HAIR REMOVAL: Yes! Yes! and Yes! Having laser hair removal will remove all the unwanted hair without any red bumps, burns, or the hassle of waxing. So I googled what laser hair removal is and found this on webmd (don’t we all love webmd!?!)

“Laser hair removal is a technique that uses beams of highly concentrated light to penetrate the hair follicles. The light is absorbed by pigment in the hair follicles and destroys the hair within the follicle. Laser hair removal is among the most commonly performed cosmetic procedures in the U.S.” [cite: web md]

 Advantages of laser: Definitely the fact that about 70-80% of hair is GONE! That is amazing! I can live without having to deal with only 20% of my hair on my legs and arms. And getting laser does not take too long.. my doctor said that underarm takes about a minute or two and the upper lip area takes about 5 mins! For legs, I believe that it may take up to twenty minutes or so!

Machine being used: LightSheer DIODE laser system (its Food and Drug Administration approved)

Price: a Groupon deal of $200 for 6 session underarm and 6 session upper lip and $199 for unlimited session for lower legs! (this is VERY cheap, usually people pay $200-300 per session). Keep checking Groupon, Living Social, KGB, Google offers for these great deals!

In the next post, I will talk about my first session of underarm and upper lip.

I hope this post was informative for you guys! Please let us know if you liked the post or not.. all types of comments are appreciated! 🙂

xoxo

One Response to “Laser Hair Removal”

  1. RD August 13, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    Thanks for letting us know about the groupon deals . Look forward to hearing about your next session. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

